Treasury hosts 2nd Public Financial Management Conference, 9 to 11 May

The 2018 Public Financial Management Conference

National Treasury, in partnership with the European Union and the United Kingdom, will be hosting the 2nd Public Financial Management (PFM) Conference from 09 to 11 May 2018 under the theme: Sound public financial management to improve service delivery and transformation. National Treasury officials, and both the British High Commissioner and the European Union Ambassador will present at the event. Delegates include amongst others: Heads of Provincial Treasuries, Provincial Accountants-General, Chief Financial Officers, and Heads of Supply Chain Management (SCM), Budgeting, and Strategic Planning from National and Provincial spheres of government.

Conference Details:

Date: 09 to 11 May 2018

Time: Please see the attached programme Venue: Gallagher Convention Centre

Address: 19 Richards Drive, Midrand, Johannesburg


The Financial Management Improvement Programme (FMIP) is premised on the Capacity Development Strategy for PFM which seeks to achieve excellence in the management of public funds. One of the objectives of the Strategy is to develop and empower a corps of competent and committed employees. The PFM Conference 2018 forms part of National Treasury's drive and endeavour to capacitate PFM officials by providing a platform to share local and international leading good practices, experiences and knowledge. The latest developments within the PFM space will be communicated and delegates will be inspired to shift their paradigm from a problem focus to a solutions focus.


To inspire excellence in the management of public funds;

To improve operational efficiency, fiscal discipline and the strategic allocation of resources;

To increase cost-effective and socially inclusive public procurement for sustainable service delivery;

To drive social cohesion, social accountability and socio-economic transformation through PFM; and

To provide a platform for thought leadership, learning and sharing.

Source: Government of South Africa