MEC Dan Plato accredits 7 new Neighbourhood Watch structures, 15 Mar

Minister Plato to accredit 7 new Neighbourhood Watch structures

Tonight, Thursday 15 March 2018, Western Cape Minister of Community Safety, Dan Plato, will officially award accreditation to 7 new Neighbourhood Watch (NHW) structures for the greater Oudtshoorn area, in Oudtshoorn.

The 7 newly accredited NHW structures brings the total number of NHWs accredit in the 2017/18 financial year thus far to 168. Overall, the Department has already accredited more than 200 NHW structures since accreditation processes started in October 2016.

The new Neighbourhood Watch structures receiving accreditation tonight includes areas for Oudtshoorn and surrounds, namely Calitzdorp, Oudtshoorn (Bridgton), De Rust, George (Bergsig and Heather Park) and Plettenberg Bay (Kwanokathula).

All the NHWs will receive their accreditation certificate and a Starter Kit, containing reflective vests, torches, safety whistles, first aid kits, fire extinguisher, strobe lights and magnetic decals for vehicles, stickers and a lockable container.

The new accredited NHW will also be eligible for additional training provided by the Department of Community Safety or our safety partners, including basic NHW training and first aid training.

Minister Plato will welcome the accredited Neighbourhood Watches as a dedicated safety partner to the community, municipality and provincial government. Safety is everyone's responsibility and the willingness of active residents to assist us in creating safer environments in our communities are appreciated, celebrated and necessary in our ongoing attempts to support the police in both crime fighting and crime prevention activities.

There will be an opportunity for photographs and interviews.

Source: Government of South Africa