SAPS athletes honoured at gala event in Kimberley

KIMBERLEY SAPS top athletes were honoured last night at an epic gala event that was held at Horseshoe Motel in Kimberley. These are the men and women from all corners of the country who excellently used their talents and participated in a race that was organized by Vodacom in memory of the late chairperson of the Vodacom Road Runners Club.

SAPS was holding its 2019 National Marathon Championships in Kimberley from 10 to 12 October 2019 and partnered with Vodacom to form part of their annual Mark van Niekerk Marathon.

The winners walked away with trophies, medals and cash prizes from various sponsors that included Old Mutual, De Beers, Horseshoe Motel and many others.

There were different categories of awards and in the Open Group for Men the winners scooped the awards in the following order;

1. I Mogapi from North West

2. T Mochobo from North West and

3. M. Speelman from the Eastern Cape.

In the same category for Women:

1. M Mthimkhulu

2. D Phaho from Gauteng Province

3. I Gongqa from the Western Cape

The highlight of the evening was the awarding of the SAPS National Marathon Championships for the third time in a row that was awarded to I Mogapi from North West who will be keeping the trophy for life.

The athletes were also awarded with trophies for their best performance at the Comrades Marathon last year.

Source: South African Police Service