President to receive Letters of Credence

President Cyril Ramaphosa will tomorrow, Tuesday 28 January 2020, receive Letters of Credence from Ambassadors and High Commissioners-designate who have been nominated by the governments of 11 countries to serve in diplomatic missions in South Africa.

The credentials ceremony will take place at the Sefako Makgatho Presidential Guesthouse in Pretoria.

Heads of Mission-designates from the following countries are due to advance diplomatic relations between their home countries and South Africa: United States of America, Czech Republic, Republic of the Gambia, Republic of Croatia, Republic of Algeria, State of Palestine, State of Qatar, Kingdom of Saudi Arabia, Federal Republic of Somalia, New Zealand and the United Republic of Tanzania.

Following the Credentials Ceremony, the President will engage - at the Union Buildings - with a select group of business leaders who represent South African companies with a footprint on the rest of the continent.

South Africa will assume the Chair of the African Union and will in this capacity champion the continental body's theme - Silencing the Guns: Creating Conducive Conditions for Africa's Development - and the important contribution that will be made to this effort by the implementation in July 2020 of the African Continental Free Trade Agreement.

The President's engagement with business leaders is aimed at consolidating a working relationship between government and business in the country's contribution to the African Union's Vision 2030.

Members of the media are invited to cover the Credentials Ceremony and the Opening Remarks to the South African Business Leaders meeting with the President.

Source: The Presidency Republic of South Africa