Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology to host the 2019 National Research Foundation (NRF) Annual Awards

The Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Dr Blade Nzimande, invites members of the media to the National Research Foundation (NRF) Annual Awards ceremony, to be held tomorrow Thursday, 12th September 2019, at the Lord Charles Hotel, cnr Main Road & Broadway Boulevard, Somerset West, Western Cape.

The Awards are meant to celebrate excellence amongst, and within, the South African research and academic community.

The mandate of the NRF is to promote and support research through funding, human resource development and the provision of the necessary research facilities in order to facilitate the creation of knowledge, innovation and development in all fields of science and technology, including indigenous knowledge, and thereby contribute to the improvement of the quality of life of all South Africans.

The 2019 Awards adds significance since the National Research Foundation is celebrating 20 years of advancing knowledge, transforming lives and inspiring a nation.

The Awards will be attended by amongst others, the Deputy Minister of Higher Education, Science and Technology, Mr Buti Manamela, Former Ministers of Science and Technology, Dr Ben Ngubane, Mr Mosibudi Mangena and Mr Derek Hanekom and former CEOs of National Research Foundation, Dr Khotso Mokhele, and Dr Albert Van Jaarsveld.

Minister Nzimande will deliver a keynote address which will be centred on the role of role of the NRF in the era of the Fourth Industrial Revolution and the new world of work.

As part of the proceedings of the evening, Dr Shamila Nair-Bedouelle, who hails from the Western Cape and is currently Assistant Director-General for Natural Sciences at UNESCO, will present the science lecture.

The NRF Awards recognise and celebrate research excellence and achievement by scientists and researchers in our country and the strides being made in building a fully inclusive knowledge intensive economy. Awarded will be A- and P-ratings, Research Excellence Award for Early Career / Emerging Researchers and special awards.

The A-Ratings are awarded to researchers who are unequivocally acknowledged by their peers as leading international scholars in their respective fields based on high quality and impact of their recent research outputs. Whereas P ratings are awarded to researchers considered likely to become future international leaders in their respective fields, on the basis of exceptional potential demonstrated in research performance and output during doctoral and/or early post-doctoral careers.

The highlight of the evening will be the awarding of the lifetime achievement award which goes to and individuals considered to have made extraordinary contributions, of international standard and impact, to the development of science in and for South Africa over an extended period of time. Previous recipients of the award include, among others, Dr Bernie Fanaroff - former Director of the SKA South Africa project, Professor Brian O' Connell � former Rector of the University of the Western Cape.

Source: Department: Science and Technology