IEC publishes final candidate lists for upcoming elections

The Electoral Commission of South Africa (IEC) has released the final lists of political parties and independent candidates that will appear on the various ballot papers in the upcoming National and Provincial Elections.

The IEC published the lists on its website on Wednesday, and has made them available at all of its offices.

According to the election management body, a new and historic feature in National and Provincial Elections (NPE) 2024 is that independent candidates will contest for seats in the National Assembly and provincial legislatures.

This is after President Cyril Ramaphosa assented to the law enabling the participation of independent candidates in April 2023.

Six independent candidates will contest for seats in the National Assembly and six will contest the provincial legislature elections.

Meanwhile, the Electoral Code of Conduct has been in effect since the 23 February proclamation of the election date.

On 4 April, the IEC held a special ceremony, where all national contestants publicly
pledged to adhere to the Electoral Code of Conduct, as well as to get their members and supporters to act in a manner that is consistent with the code.

Provincial pledge signing ceremonies at the provincial level will take place in the coming weeks.

South Africa will hold its General Election on May 29, which marks the country’s seventh democratic election.

Here is the link to the final candidate lists for the 2024 NPE: –

Source: South African Government News Agency

Recent Posts