Environmental Affairs on Memorandum of Understanding on Environmental Cooperation at BRICS summit

BRICS Environment Ministers sign Memorandum of Understanding

The Ministers of Environmental Affairs for Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa on 26 July 2018 signed a Memorandum of Understanding on Environmental Cooperation at the 10th BRICS Summit currently being hosted by President Cyril Ramaphosa in Johannesburg.

The Summit is taking place under the theme BRICS in Africa: Collaboration for Inclusive Growth and Shared Prosperity in the Fourth Industrial Revolution. It is being attended by the Heads of State and Government from Brazil, Russia, India and China.

The Summit is focused on the need to strengthen the relationship between BRICS and Africa. In this regard BRICS leaders will also interact with African leaders on how best to bring about inclusive growth and shared prosperity through heightened collaboration.

The Memorandum of Understnding (MOU) strengthens cooperation between the BRICS countries and promotes continued closer collaboration in the promotion of matters related to air quality, water, biodiversity, climate change, waste management and the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the 17 Sustainable Development Goals.

Implementation of the MOU will be coordinated through regular meetings by the BRICS states and the BRICS Joint Working Group on Environment. This incorporates the exchange of experience and information in the main areas of cooperation, including the development of regulatory and methodological document. The States will also collaborate in conducting joint research, capacity building and training, the organising of symposia, conferences and workshops, as well as the development of joint programs and projects to demonstrate best achievements, practices and technologies in areas of environmental cooperation and of joint interest.

In terms of the MOU, the participants will conclude additional agreements or arrangements to ensure effective implementation of environmental cooperation.

Source: Government of South Africa